• 24 Pages +
  • « First
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Mapping questions thread

User is offline   Forge 

• Speaker of the Outhouse

probably for the best. i had the same issue in my first map and all my backups had the corruption. mine was bad and deleting it pretty much deleted the entire map; i don't think there was such a thing as corruptcheck tryfix at the time (or it wasn't widely known and i was a noob) so i snipped it off and shoved it out onto the grid. Later i just used the isolated sectors to sign the level.
everything seemed to work fine in the end.
i repaired later editions - like the ones on CGS & steam have been fixed, but the one on MSDN is probably still broke

User is online   ck3D 

i remember getting odd glitches that were similar to your problem a few years ago in some of my old maps, most notable example was when i was working on overtime.map in which i guess i built a few sectors in the wrong order, as a result i was getting fucked up stuff ie. disappearing sectors, or red walls that would randomly turn into white ones. mind you it was back in 2003 / 2004 and i was working with the original build. those instances of corruption were pretty intense and noobish yet the 'pascal trick' saved my ass everytime. it's a key combination i still use every once in a while and it has never failed me yet. i can't remember the exact combination off the top of my head even though i can pull it off instinctively within a few tries, i don't want to mislead you but it's in a .txt file that comes with the roch 8 map archive i believe. you have to do it in 2D mode then it just goes through all the pointers in the entire map and fixes everything. it is a very powerful function and it always baffles me that people do not mention it more often

This post has been edited by ck3D: 16 August 2014 - 07:10 AM

User is offline   Micky C 

• Honored Donor