Duke4.net Forums: pc vs consoles - Duke4.net Forums

• 4 Pages +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

pc vs consoles  "NOT A FIGHT"

So I am a student in Denmark. I've looked around a few sites and the prices for building a decent gaming pc costs at least 500 pounds with shipping etc. I like mouse and keyboard but sometimes I just want to sit back and enjoy with a controller.
How often so you have to upgrade your pc, and what's the average price of the change? I like steam and their sales which is why I am even considering a pc.. I've never built one before but I think I want to try having a gaming pc instead of a console for once.
So I am asking for your experience and pros/cons.
And of course amd or Intel etc. (I have no understanding for pc parts)
Thanks guys.

User is offline   Person of Color 

• Senior Unpaid Intern at Viceland

All of your questions depend on money.

How much are you willing to spend?

What are you looking to play?

What would you consider acceptable performance?

All of those impact total cost of ownership. Give us that information and we can help you.

Also, keep in mind that anyone can build a computer these days, but diagnosing and fixing problems is a whole 'nother matter. I've repaired everything from 486's to MacBooks. If you are just "average" in skill when it comes to computers a gaming PC will be more work than usual. Be prepared to ask around to solve all your problems. Throwing money at hardware never ensures higher quality anymore. There's more snake oil products and poorly engineered parts than you can shake a stick at these days.

This post has been edited by Protected by Viper: 21 May 2014 - 05:31 PM

User is offline   Forge 

• Speaker of the Outhouse

price these, then figure in power supply, case, optical drive, hard drive, peripherals

i5-3470 Ivy Bridge, 1155
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, LGA 1155, Z77
GIGABYTE Radeon R7 265, 2GB, 256-Bit GDDR5