Duke4.net Forums: [RELEASE, Update] CrackDown - Duke4.net Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[RELEASE, Update] CrackDown  "Second level's up"

User is offline   CruX 

Okay guys, I figured it was best to release this early than work on it another week and risk making a bunch of changes that would put it on indefinite hiatus, so here it is...

Posted Image

This is a two-level mini-TC that I've been working with off and on for a couple of months. All of the weapons and items are replaced, there's new enemies, and a new arsenal to blow them away with. This mod isn't standalone, so you're going to need an official copy of DN3D. Just unpack the zip to a clean install (the ExtClut file should be in the main folder with the executables, etc.). Hopefully this isn't a no-no, but I included the synthesis of eDuke that the mod was developed with to save some time and confusion, so unpack that as well, then just run the CrackDown.bat and you're good to go. The mod can be played in software or 32 bit. If you don't do it by default, I recommend going into the render settings and turning vsync on. It'll make the weapon animations much smoother.

The premise is pretty simple. A city's been over-run with terrorists, they've taken a foreign dignitary hostage, and it's your job to go in and save him. There's some small amount of interactivity with the dignitary and your squad captain, but by the end of the day you're just running around an urban map blowing away pixelated guys. No meaning, no moral, and I wouldn't have it any other way. The level's adjusted for all four difficulty settings. If you want a challenge, try it on the third or fourth. Once the dignitary's been recovered, head back to the squad captain, he'll open a door in the drop ship, and you'll complete the level. In the second level, you're working a mundane security job for a government construction project when the suits take a violent bid at payback.