Duke4.net Forums: Designing with Build Engine (total noob) - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Designing with Build Engine (total noob)

User is offline   Coopernius 

Good morning! So as many of us did, I grew up blasting my way through the classic Build games, and would love to try my hand at learning how to use and create my own. However, I have no idea where to even start. Google has failed me, so I figured I'd come to the experts. Where can I purchase the software? Any recommended reading? Good tutorials? Anything would be of help, and thank you very much in advance for your time.

User is offline   Aleks 

View PostCoopernius, on 25 May 2021 - 06:20 AM, said:

Good morning! So as many of us did, I grew up blasting my way through the classic Build games, and would love to try my hand at learning how to use and create my own. However, I have no idea where to even start. Google has failed me, so I figured I'd come to the experts. Where can I purchase the software? Any recommended reading? Good tutorials? Anything would be of help, and thank you very much in advance for your time.

Always good to see new faces who want to make maps!

If you have Duke 3D (or specifically, DUKE3D.GRP), you don't have to buy anything else - the editor is free. It's the best to get EDuke32 with the latest version of Mapster32, which is far more convenient to work with than original Build editor (of course while still basing on the same principles). You can get it here: https://www.eduke32.com/

As for mapping tutorials, I'd suggest starting here:
https://wiki.eduke32...i/Level_editing
https://infosuite.duke4.net/index.php