Duke4.net Forums: [Tutorials] Simple CON Editing - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[Tutorials] Simple CON Editing

User is offline   DNSKILL5 

• Honored Donor

Given the situation the world is currently in, I've had some free time on my hands lately and I thought maybe it might be helpful to post some simple CON tutorials for beginners. I'm not an expert myself, and nothing I'll cover is really anything "new", and there's more than likely documentation elsewhere covering the exact same stuff, but I figured why not try to see if I can help anyone out.

My plan is to write CON tutorials, mostly USER CON stuff, but we'll see. I intend on adding to this post each time I have a new tutorial, instead of writing new posts/threads.

Like I said, I am not an expert and if my methods aren't right to someone then please make sure to tell me. Most of the tutorials should work in DOS and will work in EDuke32, and I'm sure they will work with just about any other port but these will be tested through EDuke32 and the tutorials assume that's what you're also going to be using. If enough people find this to be redundant or not useful then I will not continue with it, but if this helps someone at all then that's good enough for me. Please check out the EDuke32 wiki section about scripting. There's a lot of good stuff on there. There's tons of websites related to Duke that have some good tutorials, and there's even some books from the 90s if you want to feel nostalgic.

So the first two tutorials I have for now are fairly straight forward and easy to do. You don't have to be a programmer to understand either of these tutorials:

-How to edit USER.CON in 2020:

Spoiler

-Altering DNBETA and DNALLEN cheat codes:

Spoiler