Duke4.net Forums: Blood 3 tech idea - Duke4.net Forums

• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Blood 3 tech idea

User is offline   BloodGuy 

I recently had a nice idea for a possible Blood 3 game

The idea is to mix some techniques of the old games with some newer ones. I am a hobby game developer and brought the idea to live.
The goal is to keep the old pixeled graphic-style alive.
The monsters are 3D models that get converted to pixeled 2D-sprites like in the original Blood or Duke3D. But the conversion is in real-time that brings smoother animations and not only 8 different angels of view for the model.
Same idea for the weapons.

Look at the feet, there you see the sprite-conversion :blink:

Posted Image

Combined with some animated (also pixeled) plants and other stuff this could become a nice new style-mix
Take a look at the video:

-BloodGuy

User is offline   Hendricks266 

• Weaponized Autism

If you're doing the conversion in real time using a shader, great work, but you should only focus on replicating the art style, not the technical limitations of the medium (i.e. pixels). See the point made at the very end of this insightful article. http://www.dinofarmg...nces-pixel-art/

View PostHendricks266, on 18 March 2017 - 12:39 PM, said:

If you're doing the conversion in real time using a shader, great work, but you should only focus on replicating the art style, not the technical limitations of the medium (i.e. pixels). See the point made at the very end of this insightful article. http://www.dinofarmg...nces-pixel-art/

But the pixels is what gives these games it's unique style. Tried the BLOOD zombie right away:

Posted Image

Posted Image

User is offline   Hendricks266 

• Weaponized Autism

View PostBloodGuy, on 18 March 2017 - 02:19 PM, said:

But the pixels is what gives these games it's unique style.

No, you're wrong. Pixels were the only option they had due to limitations on technology at the time.