Duke4.net Forums: The Duke Game Engines - Duke4.net Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The Duke Game Engines  "What engines powered each individual game?"

Hello fellow duke fans, I've been wondering what game engines were used throughout the franchise. I know there have been quite a few used throughout the series. I'm not an expert but I do know a few:

Duke Nukem 3D- Build
Duke Nukem Total Meltdown-Build
Duke Nukem 64-Build
Duke Nukem Manhattan Project-Prism 3d
Duke Nukem Forever-Unreal 1

Anyone is allowed to contribute to the list. Thank you for any contributions.

User is offline   Hendricks266 

• Weaponized Autism

There is some evidence that Zero Hour is an evolution of parts of the Duke 64 code. I believe one of the devs confirmed the Build Editor was used to make the levels.

User is offline   Micky C 

• Honored Donor

Didn't DNF ultimately break off from the Unreal 2/2.5 engine? Although there have been many threads debating this so I don't want to open a can of worms.

I'm fairly confident it's safe to say that it's been modified enough to more or less be its own engine, even if it does use sizeable chunks of some form of Unreal.

This post has been edited by Micky C: 19 October 2016 - 08:25 PM

Wow that is some really interesting stuff going on with Zero Hour and DNF. In fact i think 3D Realms should have kept at it with Build and evolving it further like Zero Hour (if it could have been done).Now I'm curious to know what n-space used for Time To Kill and Land of the Babes.

User is offline   necroslut 

View PostAP Dukefan94, on 19 October 2016 - 08:48 PM, said:

Wow that is some really interesting stuff going on with Zero Hour and DNF. In fact i think 3D Realms should have kept at it with Build and evolving it further like Zero Hour (if it could have been done).Now I'm curious to know what n-space used for Time To Kill and Land of the Babes.