Duke4.net Forums: CON editing tutorials - Duke4.net Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

CON editing tutorials

User is offline   Zxcasd 

I'm new to CON coding. I've already searched through the eduke32 site tutorials but have not found what I need. The tutorials are good, but where can I find one that is more up-to-date than '96 or '97? One of the tutorials there (Jonah Bishop's) is even marked as obsolete/wrong.
1) Where can I find a correct/up-to-date one, made with eDuke32 in mind?
2) Where can I find a tutorial describing the new eDuke32-specific stuff (gamevars etc.) and how to implement them, with examples?
3) Are there IDE's/specific editors for CON editing? If so, where can I find them?
4) Any useful technical specifications, caveats, gotchas?

Thanks.

User is offline   supergoofy 

Have you looked in:

http://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Main_Page

I'm not a con coder either, but for some things that I needed to fix, I found he info from the wiki.

This post has been edited by supergoofy: 21 December 2009 - 08:08 AM

View PostZxcasd, on Dec 21 2009, 06:21 PM, said:

3) Are there IDE's/specific editors for CON editing? If so, where can I find them?

I use Notepad++ for editing cons. It's quite usable and can be customized to highlight some primitives, like an IDE.

User is offline   The Commander 

• I used to be a Brown Fuzzy Fruit, but I've changed bro...

I myself use Crimson editor.

http://www.crimsoneditor.com/

User is offline   Zxcasd 

View Postsupergoofy, on Dec 21 2009, 09:06 AM, said:

I *have* looked at those tutorials but they don't explain the basics, only how to do certain specific things; prior CON-hacking knowledge is still required. I was searching for a "total newbie"-kind of tutorial.

User is offline   TerminX 

• el fundador