Duke4.net Forums: v-sync setting resets when restarting eduke32 - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

v-sync setting resets when restarting eduke32

User is offline   Mr. Death 

Hi,

I'm new to both Duke3D & the EDuke32 source port, so please forgive me if this bug has already been reported or it's because of something I'm doing wrong on my end...

I've noticed that whenever I launch EDuke32 that my setting for v-sync always defaults to OFF, even though it shows in the options menu that it's currently set to ON. The only way I can re-enable it is to select OFF & then ON again.

Another thing is that if I launch EDuke32 & don't change the v-sync option, but then start a new episode, it will re-enable itself. But if I launch EDuke32 & re-load a save instead, it will still be disabled :/

It's not really a huge deal, but it is an annoyance that I have to do each time I want to play.

Thanks for any help!

User is offline   Hendricks266 

• Weaponized Autism

Thanks for the report, we'll take a look.

Has anyone else experienced this?

I also wanted to add that this happens with all three rendering modes (Classic, Polymost & Polymer). I've also tried using the "restartvid" console command after I launch EDuke32, but this does not re-enable v-sync either.

On a side not, I've noticed that when v-sync is enabled w/ polymost the performance is very stuttery & has constant little hiccups that causes the FPS to jump a few frames above & below my refresh rate. The other two renderers do not have this problem, but those both have obvious slowdown in some spots so I wanted to stick with polymost. Is there any way to fix this?

Here are my specs if that will help (I know, they're a bit outdated):

Windows Vista 32-bit
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4600+ (2.40GHz)
4 GB of RAM
NVIDIA Geforce 9800GT

Thanks again!

User is offline   Hendricks266 

• Weaponized Autism