Duke4.net Forums: deleting wall - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

deleting wall

This is very simple, but I am just starting out mapping in mapster32, and this is REALLY PISSING ME OFF. I have copied a sector and placed the copy right next to it, and I want it so there is no wall between them, but neither is a child sector, how do I get rid of the middle line/wall? :unsure:

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This post has been edited by beefjerky26: 07 January 2012 - 04:04 PM

User is offline   Micky C 

• Honored Donor

Think of a red wall as two white walls side by side. In order to turn the white walls between the sectors into red walls, you need to make sure that the vertexes line up. Then you can join the two together using the join function. It's hard to explain, but take this for example: You want to join two sectors, and the sides you want to join are equal length straight walls, but one wall has an extra vertex in the middle. These lines will not join. You either need to get rid of that vertex, or insert another vertex in the same position on the other wall. Now in your map, if you pull the copy away, I'm sure you'll see that the vertexes don't match up.

User is offline   Arwu 

Yes. Verticles should be in the same spot on the two white walls to join them as one wall. Micky's description should help You at all.

User is offline   TerminX 

• el fundador

View PostMicky C, on 07 January 2012 - 05:00 PM, said:

Think of a red wall as two white walls side by side. In order to turn the white walls between the sectors into red walls, you need to make sure that the vertexes line up.

A red wall is two white walls.

User is offline   thatguy 

Isn't he asking how to removing those walls, not what red lines or white lines mean? Then again it would be a white line if there wasn't some vertex issue when combining them.

This post has been edited by s.b.Newsom: 07 January 2012 - 07:24 PM