Duke4.net Forums: custom textures/sounds in duke nukem 3d - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

custom textures/sounds in duke nukem 3d

User is offline   tryhard 

I am very new at mapping for duke nukem 3d. So forgive me my newbie questions :)
My questions:
1.) how can i use selfmade custom textures for my maps? what size should they be and how can i integrate them into mapster etc.
2.) how can i create voc files? (from ogg or wav for example)
thank you in advance

tryhard

User is offline   RazorZ 

View Posttryhard, on Sep 29 2010, 12:10 AM, said:

I am very new at mapping for duke nukem 3d. So forgive me my newbie questions :)
My questions:
1.) how can i use selfmade custom textures for my maps? what size should they be and how can i integrate them into mapster etc.
2.) how can i create voc files? (from ogg or wav for example)
thank you in advance

tryhard

Use my attached programs.

Bastart and DukeRes are for art creation (in Duke Nukem 3D all tiles/sprites are in .art files), i.Mage to create transparency for sprites (if you are looking for Duke Nukem 3D palette, check Bastart folder and then select PALETTE.DAT. Many modern programs won´t support 8bit transparency, so I recommend to use i.Mage, makes it easier). GRPStudio is especially meant to edit or create your own .grp files, (Duke Nukem 3D´s content files) and Goldwave is for audio editing - support for many file formats as well as .voc files.

All new files can be packed into DUKE3D.GRP file (remember to create backup of it, if something fails while dealing with it) or you can just simply put .art and .voc files to your custom .grp file(s) , but it requires use of .bat files or other custom commands to get it work with the game, so I don´t recommend it to test out yet. After you have learned the use of these things, you can progress forward.

Now, download my .rar and have fun! :) I hope my post helped.

Attached File(s)