Duke4.net Forums: bump maps - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

bump maps  "textures move when i move"

User is offline   Nfelli64 

• Touched by the Banhammer

Hello,
i am new to bump maps and is the first time i am working with them so be soft on me, Now I am trying the program "Crazy Bump" its nice. easy. just one thing, when i apply the normal map and run eduke the texture is fine. until I move the texture MOVES the opposite way, i duck the texture moves up, i jump the texture moves down, i move left... etc
So far my theory is i have too much detail in the normal map but when i loosen up on the detail it still does the same thing

User is offline   Postal 

what the hell is wrong with your display picture.

View PostPostal, on Jan 9 2010, 05:47 PM, said:

:lol: (stick to topic please)

User is offline   The Commander 

• I used to be a Brown Fuzzy Fruit, but I've changed bro...

View PostPostal, on Jan 10 2010, 11:47 AM, said:

Looks like it's suffering from the same problems he describes in his post.

ah yes the commander :lol:
his motivational posts are so heartwarming

User is offline   Roma Loom 

• Loomsday Device

View PostNfelli64, on Jan 10 2010, 12:40 AM, said:

Hello,
i am new to bump maps and is the first time i am working with them so be soft on me, Now I am trying the program "Crazy Bump" its nice. easy. just one thing, when i apply the normal map and run eduke the texture is fine. until I move the texture MOVES the opposite way, i duck the texture moves up, i jump the texture moves down, i move left... etc
So far my theory is i have too much detail in the normal map but when i loosen up on the detail it still does the same thing

I don't really know why your texture is moving but as far as I know CrazyBump has one of the normalmap axis set "wrong" by default. You should invert one of them in CrazyBump's settings and see how the light source affects your texture.