Duke4.net Forums: where to start / how to help? - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

where to start / how to help?

User is offline   t1ck 

hi,

first the short version why i am here:
- duke3d, blood and shadowwarrior belong to my all time favourite games.
- i have some experience in programming and design and want to expand this to the world of computer games
- i recently installed eduke32 and the HRP pack and its just so impressive :o

so my conclusion is that i need to join a project that works on one of the mentioned games above!
but where to start?
eduke/hrp seems to have the most progress so far, there is lots of documentation, lots of ppl, structured forum etc etc.
SW doesnt look so transparent, is there only one guy working on it alone? the games have so much in common, wouldnt it be easier to port the *.grp stuff into the eduke32 engine instead of starting something new (same for blood)?
well and blood... there are various started project, but none seems to be very sucessfull (except for transfusion, but i think they are going the wrong way)

ok and the next question.
HOW to start? what tools do you use? what skills are required?
i wrote some programs in python and c# in my past (yes, a odd mix of skills), i can use blender/gimp, i can compile/test stuff and create packages for the archlinux world.
whatever is needed, i can learn it ;)

there are only 2 things i won't/can't do: windows and closed source projects ;)

User is offline   Jimmy 

• Let's go Brandon!

There is no source code for Blood. The only port for SW being actively developed is SWP. While I think SW could most definitely use the help the most, I don't think there is a lot of interest either. You might wanna take a crack at CON coding, which an old coder in the community referred to as "C On Narcotics". Check out wiki.eduke32.com.

User is offline   TerminX 

• el fundador