Duke4.net Forums: Inserting new palettes in duke3d - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Inserting new palettes in duke3d  "help me make my art look it's best"

User is offline   pavigna 

Hello! I'm Tom, and i'm working on a TC with tons of new cool stuff. I'm an artist, and so i've been making a lot of brand new textures, sprites and such. thing is, most of them look off because i use a modern color palette and not duke's 256 colors. is there a way to implement a more full palette so that my textures don't look off in game? Thanks

User is offline   Jimmy 

• Let's go Brandon!

Regardless of the palette you choose you would still be limited to 256 colours. You could use hi-tile instead, which has no palette, but would be incompatible with classic mode.

If you decide to press on with a palette, I would highly recommend using Image Analyzer to convert images to palettes. It is the best program for that. Better than Photoshop, Paint Shop Pro, or even Deluxe Paint.

This post has been edited by Jimmy: 29 November 2020 - 03:43 PM

User is offline   Borion 

To expand on Jimmy correct suggestion Tom, please read up on dithering:
https://en.wikipedia...ther#Examples_2

This is process that - in short - tries to keep perception of Your textures/sprites closer to what they look like before palette reduction. That app that Jimmy mentioned seem to handle this kind of stuff well (based on documentation).

In case you use mainly Photoshop, it is better to convert palettes via 'Save for web..' panel than with RGB/CMYK/Indexed panel. That way you get precise control over stuff like quantization, dithering noise(!) and others. So export first via 'Save for web' as gif applying external DN3D palette, reopen and export as indexed PNG. Hope it makes sence.

User is offline   11bush 

You could also do a tile from texture to have full color and high detail, but it takes up a lot of space.

User is offline   pavigna