Duke4.net Forums: How to edit weapon and enemy damage stats? - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to edit weapon and enemy damage stats?

I'm new to Duke 3D modding.

How can I create a mod with edited stats for weapons and enemies?

I'd like to make MY weapons more powerful (or the enemies weaker) and I'd like the enemies to do far less damage to me. For example, I'd like the pig cops to die with one shot from a shotgun and 2-3 shots of a pistol.

In other words, I'd like to turn Duke 3D into a game that plays more like Doom but with the design of Duke 3D.

I don't want to change any of the weapon sprites.

However, I would also like to disable reloading so that it feels like one clip holds all the ammo for a gun. (Not to limit use of a gun to one small clip).

How do I get started with that? I just want to get it working as soon as possible on eduke32. I've read about con files, but also that con files apply more to old mods. So, I'm not sure where to go from here.

User is online   Mark 

If the "user.con" file is laying around in your folder you need to load it into a text editor. About the first 200 lines contain the settings for enemy and weapon strengths and amounts. If that file is not present in your folder you will need to extract it from the duke3d.grp file. Someone else can explain how to do that.

User is offline   Darkus 

First, you need to extract the file USER.CON from DUKE3D.GRP (If you still possess the original CDs, it's already out, just check the ATOMINST directory). The problem is to find the tool that suits you.

There's a command line program named KEXTRACT.EXE that you can find there:
http://dukeworld.duk.../eduke32/tools/

If you're not used with command line programs, these ones comes with an interface (i've not tested them):
https://wiki.eduke32...i/Utilities#GUI