Duke4.net Forums: TC design and organisation - Duke4.net Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

TC design and organisation  "I'm after some general pointers"

User is offline   MC84 

Hi all, I've been building maps and custom art for my TC for almost 2 years now, and I'm starting to hit a few snags.

I've been working from the AMC TC 2 mod, as I liked a lot of the extra functionality. My custom artwork has been steadily increasing and it is now starting to interfere with some of the hard-coded sprites and other in-game functionality. I realise that I could just move my art to the final tilesets so that there is no interference, but it seems inefficient to me to have a bloated .GRP file with 80 unused tilesets and then my custom tiles. I considered just inserting my artwork in the 'safe tiles' where there is no coding attached, but this seems kind of messy to me. Furthermore, my custom art will soon be interfering with the AMC TC sprites (such as weapon sprites) which will mean that the mod becomes increasingly unplayable when I wish to test my levels...

Would it be wise to use a fresh copy of eduke32 and 'transplant' the code and functionality from AMC TC (or wherever else) that I wish to use over to my mod? As great as the AMC TC is, there are plenty of extra features that I don't wish to use (ie multiple characters). How do the experienced members here go about managing/organising a TC? I just want to get this issue sorted now, before it turns into a big mess, and any general advice or pointers would be much appreciated.

I currently have ZERO .CON coding knowledge, however I'm willing to try and get my head around it so that I can organise my TC properly.

P.S. I was motivated to write this post after opening up the Alien Armageddon addon in mapster and admiring how tidy and organised all the custom art was.

This post has been edited by conoklast: 30 August 2018 - 05:12 PM

User is offline   Mark